Bengaluru and Kolkata are among the top cities that did not make it to the list of 98 that have been nominated for the government’s ambitious Smart City project.

Only the Lutyens zone covered by the New Delhi Municipal Council has been named as a contender, leaving out the larger part of Delhi under the Municipal Corporation of Delhi. Other prominent cities that failed to make the cut are Shimla, Gangtok, Patna, Thiruvananthapuram, Puducherry and Itanagar. Even Gurgaon and Noida, seen as technology hubs, are not part of the list.

Chennai is the only metro city named as a whole to be a part of the project, while pockets such as Navi Mumbai, Greater Mumbai, Nashik and Thane have made it to the list. Also, New Town, a satellite town to Kolkata, has been selected.

ALSO READ: Maha Govt accords top priority to develop 10 smart cities
Uttar Pradesh, which had the largest quota of cities at 13, has nominated 12 so far. There is a tie between Meerut and Raebareli in the first phase of the city challenge competition. The 12 include Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s constituency Varanasi, along with Lucknow, Agra, Allahabad and Kanpur.

Tamil Nadu, a close second with 12 nominations, has listed Chennai, Madurai and Coimbatore among others. Madhya Pradesh’s list of seven includes Bhopal, Indore, Jabalpur and Gwalior. Gujarat has named its quota of six, including Gandhinagar, Ahmedabad, Surat and Rajkot.

Union Urban Development Minister Venkaiah Naidu announced the names at a press conference here on Thursday. These 98 cities will now compete for the second stage of the challenge. Jammu and Kashmir is yet to nominate a city and Uttar Pradesh has named one less than its quota of 13, making it a list of 98 instead of 100.

Bengaluru, Kolkata miss Smart City listThe next phase of the city challenge competition will be critical as only 20 of the nominated cities will make the cut for the first round of the project. The top 20 with highest scores across parameters such as service levels, infrastructure, track record, execution proposals and population will be eligible for Rs 200 crore of central funds each in the first year and Rs 100 crore each over the next three years.

States, municipal bodies as well as private players will chip in too. Subsequently, other cities will be given time to improve their scores and enter the next round of the competition.

According to Pratap Padode, founder and director, Smart Cities Council India, cities that have been left out in the current nominations can still make it in the following rounds. Similarly, some of the cities nominated now can be eliminated at any stage, depending on their scores as they go along.

Originally posted here – 

Bengaluru, Kolkata miss Smart City list