Jan Hooks as Hillary Clinton during an ‘SNL’ sketch on April 19, 1994.

Image: Al Levine/NBC/NBCU Photo Bank)
By Katie Sola2014-10-10 15:29:50 UTC

Comics of all stripes hailed Jan Hooks on Twitter as a standout Saturday Night Live performer while fellow funnywomen cited her as an inspiration after learning Thursday that the actress and comedian had died at age 57.

Hooks appeared on SNL from 1986 to 1991. Later, she played Carlene Dobber in the sitcom Designing Women and appeared on 3rd Rock From The Sun.

Hooks’ former colleagues and fans shouted out her most famous characters, including Brenda the Waitress, an Alamo tour guide on Pee-Wee’s Big Adventure and Hillary Clinton. For more Jan Hooks, check out this compilation of clips.

Meanwhile, here’s a sampling of what the comedy world had to say about Hooks:

@TheWrap: #RIP: Jan Hooks, ‘Saturday Night Live’ Star, Dead at 57 http://t.co/bP8jD0Z06A pic.twitter.com/DymDCt3dr4” oh no. So crazy funny.

— Judd Apatow (@JuddApatow) October 9, 2014

RIP Jan Hooks. One of the all time greats.

— Seth Meyers (@sethmeyers) October 10, 2014


— Chelsea Peretti (@ChelseaVPeretti) October 9, 2014

I just heard the news former #SNL cast member Jan Hooks has died.
She was one of the funniest performers ever on SNL. Always a stand out.

— Dane Cook (@DaneCook) October 9, 2014

Jan Hooks still stands out as one of the funniest cast members in SNL history. Very sorry to read about her passing.

— Seth MacFarlane (@SethMacFarlane) October 9, 2014

RIP JAN HOOKS. one of the greatest performers in SNL history.

— Andy Cohen (@Andy) October 10, 2014

Jan Hooks. No!

— John Cho (@JohnTheCho) October 9, 2014

RIP Jan Hooks. An endearing, funny woman who so inspired and made me laugh so much. A bright light went out.

— Cheri Oteri (@cherioteri) October 9, 2014

Jan Hooks and her characters were quoted a LOT around my house growing up. RIP to an amazing performer.

— Diablo Cody (@diablocody) October 9, 2014

Jan Hooks. I idolized her. A comedy original. ALWAYS made me laugh.. working with her or watching her. Too short a career and life. So sad.

— Andrea Martin (@iamandreamartin) October 9, 2014

Incredibly sad about Jan Hooks. She was truly one of my favorite SNL cast members. So funny. A sad day for comedy. #RIPJanHooks

— Paul Feig (@paulfeig) October 9, 2014

@KGWNews: Report: Former ‘SNL’ star Jan Hooks dies at 57 http://t.co/AVegCF5spl” so sorry to hear about Jan Hooks. I loved her on SNL.

— Katie Couric (@katiecouric) October 9, 2014

RIP Jan Hooks. Loved your work on @nbcsnl especially when you did #sineadoconnor. Condolences to friends/family/loved ones.

— Orlando Jones (@TheOrlandoJones) October 9, 2014

Today we say goodbye to a funny & diversely talented performer. I admired your character work very much. You will be missed. #RIPJanHooks

— Jonathan Kite (@jbkite) October 9, 2014

Saddened to hear of the death of Jan Hooks. “There’s no basement at the Alamo” is seriously up there with “Play it, Sam.”

— James Urbaniak (@JamesUrbaniak) October 9, 2014

When I hear folks say, “women aren’t funny”, Jan Hooks always popped into my head to shut ’em up. LOVED HER! So sad. #RIP

— Steve Byrne (@stevebyrnelive) October 9, 2014

Jan Hooks, rest in peace. Millennials, google “Jan Hooks.”

— Julie Klausner (@julieklausner) October 9, 2014

Have something to add to this story? Share it in the comments.