Today in San Francisco, Google will unveil an entire line of new products, from high-end phones to smart devices for the home. Sure, we’ve seen Google tout hardware on stage before, but the big difference here is that the devices Google will be debuting today are designed and made entirely in-house. Previous “Google Phones” and smart devices were made by hardware partners like LG, Huawei, or Samsung. This move to in-house design marks a big shift for Google, as the company becomes a device provider that—like Apple and Microsoft before it—controls the hardware, the software, and the services that power its devices.

The event starts at 9am PDT/12pm EDT on Tuesday, October 4. You can watch the video above, and you can also follow our commentary and insider knowledge on WIRED’s liveblog, which will kick off about an hour before the video at 8am PDT/11am EDT.

The big news will surely be the phones. If the rumors are true (and we believe they are), Google will ditch the Nexus branding its used for all previous generations of its phone hardware in favor of the name Pixel. This naming matches up with Google’s previous in-house hardware products, the Pixel tablet and the Chromebook Pixel.

Other things we expect to see are the retail releases of Google Home and Daydream VR, which were announced in May, plus maybe some Chromecast hardware. Tune in, check out our liveblog, and learn along with us what the future holds.

Visit link:

Live Video: Watch Google’s 2016 Hardware Event