hom Yorke and Atoms For Peace performs on day 3 of the 2013 Austin City Limits Music Festival at Zilker Park on Sunday October 6, 2013 in Austin Texas.

Image: John Davisson/Invision/Associated Press
By Brian Anthony Hernandez2014-09-26 16:31:21 UTC

Radiohead frontman Thom Yorke unleashed Tomorrow’s Modern Boxes, his first solo album in eight years, on Thursday in a very unconventional way.

The album is available to download as a $6 BitTorrent Bundle, a new music-distribution strategy aimed at helping artists make more money from their content.

“It’s an experiment to see if the mechanics of the system are something that the general public can get its head around,” Yorke said in a statement, co-written with musician Nigel Godrich, Yorke’s Atoms for Peace bandmate and Radiohead producer.

If you’re scratching you’re head in confusion, BitTorrent published a step-by-step guide on how to access the new album (you’ll need the BitTorrent app and just a few minutes).

Artists partnering with BitTorrent keep 90% of the payment, while BitTorrent takes only 10%, and pays for the transaction fees.

“If it works well, it could be an effective way of handing some control of Internet commerce back to people who are creating the work. Enabling those people who make either music, video or any other kind of digital content to sell it themselves. Bypassing the self-elected gate-keepers,” they wrote.

Tomorrow’s Modern Boxes features eight tracks, and comes with the music video for “A Brain In A Bottle.” It’s also available to buy as a vinyl record.

BONUS: 24 Musical Tattoos That Strike the Right Chord

  1. ?size=l
  2. ?size=l
  3. ?size=l
  4. ?size=l
  5. ?size=l
  6. ?size=l
  7. ?size=l
  8. ?size=l
  9. ?size=l
  10. ?size=l
  11. ?size=l
  12. ?size=l
  13. ?size=l
  14. ?size=l
  15. ?size=l
  16. ?size=l
  17. ?size=l
  18. ?size=l
  19. ?size=l
  20. ?size=l
  21. ?size=l
  22. ?size=l
  23. ?size=l
  24. ?size=l

Have something to add to this story? Share it in the comments.