Cricket World Cup Winners & Runners List ( ODI )


It is noteworthy that the only two teams to win the championship in back-to-back years are Australia and the West Indies. Australia won it three times in a row in 1999, 2003, and 2007, while the West Indies won it twice in 1975 and 1979.

As co-hosts of the 1996 World Cup, Sri Lanka was the first host country to win the trophy. The dominant Australians have advanced to seven of the 12 finals that have been played so far, while New Zealand has not won the championship despite finishing second twice in 2015 and 2019.

1975West Indies291–8Australia274England
1979West Indies286–9England194England
1983India183West Indies140England
1987Australia253–5England246–8India and Pakistan
1992Pakistan249–6England227Australia and New Zealand
1996Sri Lanka245–3Australia241Pakistan, India and Sri Lanka
2003Australia359–2India234South Africa
2007Australia281–4Sri Lanka215–8West Indies
2011India277–4Sri Lanka274–6India, Bangladesh & Sri Lanka
2015Australia186–3New Zealand183Australia and New Zealand
2019England241New Zealand241–8England and Wales

A chronological summary of the Cricket World Cup finals from 1975 to 2019 is given in the table, along with important information like the year, the host nation, the winning team, their score, the score of the runner-up, and the corresponding score. The West Indies’ supremacy in the latter part of the 1970s, India’s momentous victory in 1983, and Australia’s consistent performance over several years are noteworthy instances. The information demonstrates the variety of places that have played host to the esteemed competition, ranging from South Africa and the West Indies to England and the Indian subcontinent. Every entry captures the spirit of competition and excitement of the Cricket World Cup, showcasing the competition’s rich history as well as the exciting matches that have taken place over the years. The last row looks forward to the 2023 World Cup and is waiting to hear who will serve as host.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *